Avrel’s Books

StaggeringCoverBig

Staggering: Life and Death on the Texas Frontier at Staggers Point

by Avrel Seale

247 pages

In 1829, recent arrivals from Ireland began moving to a patch of wilderness near the Brazos River in Mexican Texas. They came seeking freedom and fortune. What they found was malaria, war, the constant threat of gruesome Indian massacres, wolves, panthers — and an abiding happiness that has kept many descendants there to this day. At Staggers Point, near modern-day Bryan, Texas, they collided and coexisted with four other cultures: Americans, American Indians, Mexicans, and enslaved African Americans. These families bore witness to the greatest political upheavals of nineteenth century America, and their lives spanned the full range of human experience — from scratching out a living on a primitive frontier; to fleeing and fighting bands of Comanches and other American Indians, the Mexican army, and common criminals; to the joys and sorrows of raising children beyond the reach of civilization. Though they were common pioneers, to us their experiences, their feats, and their very survival are staggering.

Driven by a desire to understand his heritage, essayist Avrel Seale has unearthed nuggets of little-known history from diverse sources and blended them with social commentary to produce a revealing and fast-paced history of nineteenth century Texas.

 

The Grand Merengue

by Avrel Seale
120 pages

An afterlife comedy. When a traveling businessman takes his own life, he expects an escape from the pain of his daily existence. At the very least, he doesn’t expect to have to work. But when he checks in to The Gra

nd Merengue, the only afterlife destination there is, he doesn’t find angels or demons, but an odd assortment of very familiar characters, all working on what needs to be fixed in their own lives. An Arab terrorist and a Jewish militant forced to room together. A porn addict, a shop-ahol

ic, and a junkie all rubbing elbows with some of the most famous figures of history, and all trying to gain favor with The Management and be upgraded from the bare-bones ground floor rooms to the penthouse suite. In the tradition of “A Christmas Carol” and “It’s a Wonderful Life,” Seale creates a light-hearted, cinematic vision of the great beyond for a new generation, with an economy of words but wealth of spiritual implications. 120 pp.

 

Dude: A Generation X Memoir
by Avrel Seale

260 pages
What is a dude? An American male who came of age in the 1970s and ’80s, when a host of bizarre cultural influences converged to produce a bizarre generational tribe. The Dude Nation is identifiable by its music, its TV and movie references, its linguistic habits, and the toys that shaped its consciousness. Avrel Seale mines his own Texas youth of the 1970s and ’80s to produce a richly textured, inherently funny retrospective on what is now called Generation X. At once personal, sociological, and comical, he reveals the pop culture, politics, race- and gender-relations, and general outlook of this hard-to-pin-down subculture. If you’re a dude, this book will help you reclaim and honor your inner dude. If you are not a dude, this stroll through a hilarious slice of Americana will help you better understand every dude in your life. Available here.

The Hull, the Sail, and the Rudder: A Search for the Boundaries of the Body, Mind, and Soul

by Avrel Seale

225 pages, $12
A creative memoir mixing storytelling, theory, humor, and spiritual exploration, The Hull, the Sail, and the Rudder builds on the work of thinkers from ancient to modern times in an audacious quest for a unified theory of human life. Seale’s destination, it turns out, is as close as the boat he’s sitting in. Through the workings of the hull, the sail, and the rudder, he learns that our bodies, minds, and souls can be defined by the different functions they perform as well as by their differing internal structures, and that the unique way that those three fields intersect in every person accounts for the differences in who we are. Available here.


The Messengers: The Story of God’s Special Messengers

Written for Children

by Avrel Seale

Can you name the most important people in the history of the world? Were they kings? Presidents? Inventors? No. They were the Messengers of God. One of them was a carpenter. Another sold cloth for a living. And another drove camels across the desert. But they changed the world more than anyone else. In this book, you will learn about Abraham, Krishna, Moses, Zoroaster, Buddha, Jesus, Muhammad, The Bab, and Baha’u’llah — all Messengers of God. Written for children, “The Messengers” presents these brief biographies in simple but dignified language alongside beautiful photographs of the places where the Messengers lived. Adults will find these stories helpful in building their own knowledge of world religions. (This book is unavailable at the moment. My apologies.)

The Tree: A Spiritual Proposition, and Selected Essays

by Avrel Seale

Print: $8.50
In this short book, Avrel Seale suggests that all of nature is a metaphor for the spiritual world. In such a scheme, God is represented by the sun, and the human being is represented by the tree, which has its roots in the material world but becomes more glorious as it grows toward the life-giving sun. Other essays rounding out this book examine the transitions between barbaric societies and ideal civilizations, the fractal patterns of creation, the seven steps to heaven on Earth, and a brief rumination on the ultimate meaning of life. Available here.

True Freedom and the Wisdom of Virtue: How the Bahá¹í Principles of Personal Morality Make Life Better
by Avrel Seale
130 pages, $8

Most people understand that goodness is its own reward and that we must strive to be moral even if it means hardship, poverty, persecution, or death. But we seldom stop to consider that in the vast majority of cases, the moral choice also is the one that makes life easier in the long run. Virtue is about making life richer, more meaningful, and ultimately more enjoyable, not about quashing all of our fun. True Freedom is about the deep wisdom that is imbedded in virtue, with special focus on the virtues practiced by the worldwide community of Bahá’ís. Many of these virtues are broadly shared with those of other moral traditions — chastity outside marriage, abstinence from drugs, moderation of materialism. Others are novel, such as noninvolvement in politics, and still others find an emphasis in the Faith that they don’t in society at large, such as avoidance of fault-finding and gossip. But all of these virtues pose a special challenge to Bahá’ís of the West, who are confronted daily with an ethos of radical individualism. The irony is that true freedom, as opposed to the counterfeit freedom our culture often promotes, is only attainable through a life bound by morality. Available here.

The Secret of Suranesh – A Novella
by Avrel Seale
This is the companion book to the film of the same name.
90 pages. $7

Suranesh lives just after the worldwide catastrophe remembered in myths around the world as the Flood, a disaster that has nearly wiped the slate clean. To recover the memory of that ancient, advanced, but corrupt world, and preserve its lessons so that future ages can be spared its fate, he sets out on a death-defying but stunningly beautiful journey across his deserted continent to learn both the secrets of that age and the secrets of humanity’s future. In dialogues with the Elders who lived through the cataclysm, he plumbs the depths of philosophical questions that vex us even today: If the Creator is just, why do the innocent suffer? Available here.

The Secret of Suranesh
A Spiritual Epic, Available Now on DVD

Produced and Directed by Jay Galvan and Avrel Seale,

Written by Avrel Seale

87 minutes.

Suranesh lives just after the worldwide catastrophe remembered in myths around the world as the Flood, a disaster that has nearly wiped the slate clean. To recover the memory of that ancient, advanced, but corrupt world, and preserve its lessons so that future ages can be spared its fate, he sets out on a death-defying but stunningly beautiful journey across his deserted land to learn both the secrets of that age and the secrets of humanity’s future. In the process of interviewing the Elders who lived through the catastrophe, he plumbs the depths of philosophical questions that vex us even today. If the Creator is just, why do the innocent suffer?

In a transcontinental trek that is dangerous and beautiful, Suranesh seeks out elders who can answer the riddle of his own past and the kingdom just destroyed by the Flood. But the spiritual journey he makes is just as familiar to us today. Available here.

9 comments on “Avrel’s Books

  1. Cherida Creebsburg says:

    Where can I purchased your books? do you have them also digital?Cherida

    • Avrel Seale says:

      Hi Cherida. Print versions of all my books are available at Lulu.com. Digital versions of most of them are available through Amazon/Kindle. (I’m still working on uploading my first book, The Hull, the Sail, and the Rudder — hopefully soon on that one. Thanks for asking!

  2. Cherida Creebsburg says:

    Hi Avrel, thank you so much for your reply. I would like to buy “The Tree” and because I am living in the Caribbean I was hoping to get it digital asap. But patients is a virtue so I will order it at lulu.com. thank you some much!

    Warmly,
    Cherida Creebsburg

  3. Cherida Creebsburg says:

    Thank you so much Avrel! i am seeing my wrong spelling of the word patience but I am so glad that you understood what I meant ;-)) Cherida

  4. Steve Watson says:

    Avrel, it looks as though there are 6 of your books available in paperback format at lulu.com, but not “The Messengers”. eBook format search yields nothing. Any advice on where the paperback and/or ebook format of that book might be found?

    • Avrel Seale says:

      Steve, thanks for your question. Unfortunately, my custom publisher discontinued this size of book a couple of years ago and I had failed to take it off my site. If I still have the art files I’d like to republish it at a different size, but until then, I’m sorry to say it’s a collector’s item. :-/

  5. Paul Clifton says:

    Hi Avrel-
    I would like to order “The Messengers” but don’t find it on lulu.com. Is it available elsewhere?

    • Avrel Seale says:

      Paul, thanks for your question. Unfortunately, my custom publisher discontinued this size of book a couple of years ago and I had failed to take it off my site. If I still have the art files I’d like to republish it at a different size, but until then, I’m sorry to say it’s a collector’s item. :-/ Hook ’em Horns!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s